English: Mirepoix - a combination of onions, c...

Image via Wikipedia

Even though this winter has not been overly cold, soup is still a soothing food. I like soup because all the nutrients that normally get thrown out in the water are still there. Buy all kinds of vegetables and try various combinations. I love my soup more like a stew, thick and crunchy. I always start with a French mirepoix (meer-pwah) of carrots, celery and onions. I sauté them in olive oil until onions are translucent and carrots and celery are softer. Then I add vegetable broth and all the chopped vegetables I have. Cut vegetables into bite size pieces so you can eat the soup easily. I season with basil, hot red pepper and oregano. Try different vegetables and seasonings. The soup has a wonderful taste and is dense in nutrients. Eat for health.

